Topology of the ixo protocol

The ixo protocol follows the Hub & Zones model initiated by Cosmos, whereby the Hub is the primary network & Zones are secondary networks. In our case, the Hub is also known as the Sustainability Hub - in the case of the Cosmos project it is known as the Cosmos Hub.

The Sustainability Hub

Operated at first by 7 validators/relayers. With each of them being a link to the rest of the network for the Impact Projects & Impact Oracles connected to them.

Note that in our case, each node represented below is a validator. In ixo, an entity can only be a validator if also a relayer (more on this later). Each validator helps secure the network.

The Zones

Each zone is deployed to provide an application specific blockchain. Several Nodes form a Zone, a network. All Nodes run Tendermint Consensus.

Each Zone has a focused purpose, delivering a set of utilities or applications specific to that purpose. The configuration of the zone in terms of governance, security, economics and specialised modules, will all be designed for the purpose of the Zone and the stakeholders it serves.

The Launch Zone

This zone is dedicated to the Launchpad, hence called Launch Zone, it specializes in getting Impact Oracles up and running from scratch; that includes funding, building & connecting with projects.

Once an Impact Oracle has been built, the provider must stake a performance deposit of IXOS before the oracle can deliver services

More Zones

There can be other zones deployed such as a Impact Data Consortium Zone.

How this works

The Zones and the Hub can communicate via a node (validator/relayer) in common or using the IBC - note that the IBC module is planned to be released in Q2 2020.

Feeling lost? you might want to start reading here Technical Discussions category - START HERE